Skip to content

Steam Engine

January 23, 2012

When you discuss the industrial revolution, many people know about the topic of James Watt’s Steam Engine. What few people know about is the difficulties he had getting a patent for his invention.

Here is a transcript of that conversation:

James Watt: “Good morning.”
Clerk: “Hello, how can I help you?”
James: “I would like to patent my invention.”
Clerk: “State the nature of your invention.”
James: “A steam powered engine”
Clerk: “For filing purposes, state your last name”
James: “Watt”
Clerk: “Your last name”
James: “Watt”
Clerk: “Please state your last name”
James: “My last name is Watt”
Clerk: “I don’t know sir. Please state your last name.”
James: “My last name is Watt. This is the Watt’s Steam Engine”
Clerk: “I don’t know what kind of steam engine you are applying for, sir. It’s your invention.”
James: “My last name is Watt. W-A-T-T, Watt!”
Clerk: “Alright sir, and what does your engine do?”
James: “It produces wattage.”
Clerk: “No, sir, I don’t need to ask you your age.”
James: “No, it produces wattage.”
Clerk: “I’m not sure that I follow, sir.”
James: “My steam engine produces wattage to power machines.”
Clerk: “It’s the 18th century, I’m sure that one must be at least 12 years of age to work with machines.”
James: “Forget it! Just forget it!”

From → Pun Stories, Science!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

